About the Farm
Mr. W. J. Donaldson built this historical two-story home in the mid
1870’s just following the end of the Civil War. The house was originally
painted white, surrounded by a white picket fence, and nestled on the
corner of Chamblee-Dunwoody and Vermack Road. Members of the Donaldson
family, including patriarch W. J. Donaldson, are buried in the small
family cemetery located on the north side of the property. The property
originally featured eight outbuildings including a blacksmith shop, a
three-stall barn, washhouse, well, and commissary.
Following the death of Mr. Donaldson’s third wife in 1935, his heirs
divided the property for sale. Mrs. Lois Bannister purchased the home as
a summer home, adding electricity, running water, and oversaw the
construction of several additions to the original structure. After the
passing of Mrs. Bannister the property had several owners, but
eventually became the home of David and Linda Chesnut in 1975.
The Donaldson-Bannister Farm is available for public and private events. If you are looking for a scenic, unique location for a wedding or family reunion, this is it.
To learn more about the Donaldson-Bannister Farm as an event site and other historic
properties please visit the Dunwoody Preservation Trust website. www.dunwoodypreservationtrust.org
For event inquiries please visit http://saratogaevents.com/saratoga/the-dunwoody-farmhouse or call 678-218-FARM.